Election Commission Changes

Election Commission Changes

lakshmiprasada S / Shutterstock.com

The Peoria County Board of Election Commissioners (PCBEC) was formed in 2015 as a result of the county-wide referendum. The voters voted for creating a more efficient and economical manner of conducting elections throughout Peoria County. The PCBEC has five commissioners and the Chief Judge of the Tenth Judicial Circuit is the appointing authority.

The functions of the City of Peoria Election Commission and the Peoria County Clerk were merged by the referendum results. The Chief Judge’s office wishes to announce the following changes to the PCBEC, effective August 11, 2020.

  • On August 11th, La Colis Reed’s term as commissioner expired. La Colis has a long history of public service to Peoria. He is a charter commissioner and initial Chairman of the PCBEC. Before being the chairman, he served on the City of Peoria Board of Election Commissioners from 2006 to 2015. La Colis will be missed. He served the citizens of Peoria well.
  • Chief Judge has chosen Arun Pinto, M.D., a well-regarded local board-certified psychiatrist to fill the vacancy created by LaColis Reed’s departure. Dr. Pinto has a history of public service over and above his medical practice. He worked at the Children’s Home, Pediatric Resource Center, Human Service Center, and Library Board. He will be an excellent addition to PCBEC. He will continue to uphold the reputation of the Commission.

Matt Bartolo, Mark Ketterer, Sandra Burke, and James Manning are the other commissioners currently serving on the PCBEC.

Staff writer for the Chicago Morning Star

Related Posts
Impact of Paycheck Protection Program
The data on the utilization of the popular Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) was released earlier
Motorcycle and Car Collide
Around 9:38 p.m., on Sunday, July 5, 2020, the Peoria Police Department, Advanced Medical Transport,
13 Street Gang Members Sentenced
13 members of the Peoria street gang known as “Bomb Squad” have been sentenced. The
Prison Imprisonment for Peoria Street Gang Member
Eugene Haywood has been sentenced to life in prison plus 10 years in federal prison.
Peoria County Board has new Member
Betty Duncan will be appointed Peoria County Board Member for District 3. Her appointment will
Peoria County Clerk seeks approval for her proposal of waiving Marriage/Civil Union License fee
Rachael Parker, the Peoria County Clerk, sent a proposal to the Peoria County Board related
Pop-A-Shot & Peoria
After relocating to Greater Peoria, the electronic basketball game original has scored big. Pop-A-Shot produces
Greater Peoria: COVID-19 Info and Resources
The flow of information between local public health officials and the business community regarding COVID-19
Organic producers discussed building regional supply chain in last GP Farm Forum
The last GP Farm Forum took place in February 2020. The economic development opportunity has
COVID-19 affects March 17 Primary Election
Independence Village of Peoria, St. Sharbel Apartments, and Lutheran Hillside Village have notified the Peoria