The Democrats name 2020 Presidential candidates for first debate

The Democrats name 2020 Presidential candidates for first debate

The Democratic National Committee have announced on Thursday the list of 20 presidential candidates who qualified to participate in the debate. There will be a sitting U.S. governor and congressman among four candidates that will not be part of the stage when the Democratic Party holds its pivotal first debate in Miami later this month.

The candidates omitted from the debate are Montana Governor Steve Bullock, U.S. Representative Seth Moulton of Massachusetts, former U.S. Senator Mike Gravel, and Wayne Messam, the mayor of Miramar, Florida. The debate will be held over two nights on June 26 and June 27. It will give the candidates a chance to have a first close-up with Americans.

The debate will also give a chance to the candidates to boost their poll-numbers as well. All the candidates will not be up to debate in one night. They will be randomly divided between two nights. They will be divided in such a way which ensures top-polling candidates will be spread evenly between both debates.

The draw is expected to take place on Friday in New York. The parameter for the qualification as a candidate was to receive at least 1% in three polls, or by receiving donations from 65,000 supporters, including at least 200 donors apiece in 20 states. The Democratic Party have established new rules to limit participation and make the debate less unwieldy. Discarded candidate Bullock had been the most vocal of this system.

The participants selected are:

  • Senator Michael Bennet of Colorado
  • Former Vice President Joe Biden
  • Senator Cory Booker of New Jersey
  • South Bend, Indiana, Mayor Pete Buttigieg
  • Former Housing Secretary Julián Castro
  • New York Mayor Bill de Blasio
  • Former Representative John Delaney of Maryland
  • Representative Tulsi Gabbard of Hawaii
  • Senator Kirsten Gillibrand of New York
  • Senator Kamala Harris of California
  • Former Governor John Hickenlooper of Colorado
  • Governor Jay Inslee of Washington
  • Senator Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota
  • Former Representative Beto O’Rourke of Texas
  • Representative Tim Ryan of Ohio
  • Senator Bernie Sanders of Vermont
  • Representative Eric Swalwell of California
  • Senator Elizabeth Warren of Massachusetts
  • Author Marianne Williamson
  • Entrepreneur Andrew Yang

Staff writer for the Chicago Morning Star

Related Posts
Race of Presidency in the United States of America
According to the constitution of America, a presidential candidate must be 35 years old and
Joe Biden has termed Donald Trump an ‘existential threat’ to U.S.
Presidential candidate Joe Biden has thrashed President Donald Trump by calling him an ‘existential threat’
Ukraine’s Presidential Elections – Zelensky vs Poroshenko
The Exit poll results of the Ukraine Presidential elections have been revealed. According to the
Antony Blinken’s cautious progress was ultimately undermined by the administration’s actions
US President Joe Biden referred to Chinese President Xi Jinping as a "dictator." He also
When it comes to railroad safety, America is off the mark
Last week, an Amtrak train derailed at Union Station in Chicago. The same week, a freight
Biden touts investments from the bipartisan infrastructure law
President Biden on Wednesday made an appeal to the value of bipartisanship during a trip
Biden honors the career of Nancy Pelosi
President Biden on Thursday honored the career of outgoing Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.), saying that
Biden calls his age ‘legitimate’ voter concern
President Biden in an interview that aired Sunday said it’s a “legitimate thing” for voters
White House Admits Biden Intends to “Run Again” in 2024
The White House on Tuesday reiterated that President Biden intends to run again after the
Biden Threats to end Nord Stream 2 if Kremlin invades Ukraine
President Biden insisted Monday that the Nord Stream 2 pipeline from Russia to Germany would be